This site uses technical, analytics and third-party cookies.
By continuing to browse, you accept the use of cookies.

Preferences cookies

The Ambassador



Curriculum Vitae

Born in Rome on 25th February 1968.
In March 1992 he graduated in Political Science from the “L.U.I.S.S.” University of Rome.
After his degree he served as an Italian Navy Reserve Officer.
He entered the Diplomatic Service on 29th December 1997 and worked at the Servizio Stampa e Informazione (Press Office) of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Rome.
From September 2000 he was posted to the Embassy of Italy in Riyadh (Saudi Arabia) as First Commercial Secretary.
From June 2003, on the occasion of the Italian Semester of Presidency of the EU Council, he was assigned at the Delegation for the Organisation of the Italian Presidency of the Council of the European Union.
On 20th March 2004 he was appointed Chief of Staff to the Secretary General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
From 2005 to 2009 he was Commercial Counsellor at the Embassy of Italy in Washington D.C., U.S.A.
From April 2009 he worked at the Prime Minister’s Office as G8/G20 Assistant Sherpa and as Advisor to the Prime Minister for the Americas, Asia and Africa.
On 16th August 2013 he was appointed Consul General of Italy in London.
From June 2018 to October2019 he was Chief of Staff to the Deputy Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation.
From 21 October 2019, he is the Ambassador of Italy in Uganda, Rwanda and  Burundi.
In 2004 he was awarded the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic as “Cavaliere”.
On 2nd June 2013 he was awarded the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic as “Cavaliere Ufficiale”.
Mother tongue: Italian. Perfect knowledge of English, German and French

  • From 1964, 2 years after the proclamation of Uganda’s independence, the following Heads of Mission have been at the helm of the Embassy of Italy:
    • Giovanni Revedin di San Martino: 5th July 1964
    • Amedeo Solferini: 3rd May 1967
    • Renzo Luigi Romanelli: 2nd January 1968
    • Renzo Falaschi: 27th April 1973
    • Eugenio Rubino: 10th March 1977
    • Michele Martinez: 19th July 1981
    • Salvatore Zotta: 6th November 1984
    • Alessio Carissimo: 14th May 1989
    • Marcello Ricoveri: 21st May 1993
    • Luigi Napolitano: 2nd March 1998
    • Maurizio Teucci: 26th October 2001
    • Umberto Plaja: 19th January 2006
    • Pietro Ballero: 22nd May 2008
    • Stefano Antonio Dejak: 1st November 2011
    • Domenico Fornara: 11th May 2015
    • Massimiliano Mazzanti: 21st 2019